October 17, 2014

One of the crazy things that happened to me today was the appearance of what looked like a red handprint on my arm in which I had the flu shot.  It came two days after the actual shot so I was not overly concerned, but the woman I work with was very concerned so I went to see the nurse who gave me the shot and she had the PA look at my arm. They decided it was indeed from the shot and it was from gravity migrating down my arm and told me what to look out for.

The interesting thing is that when I got the shot I also got a shot to prevent or give a light case of  shingles and she told me all the possible complications and side effects it might bring and so far I have had none of them.

I think it is interesting how in our culture we think we know a lot of things that we don’t really know quite as well as we think we do.  Now, I am not saying we don’t know a lot about vaccinations, etc, because we do, but it always seems to me like folks think they know a little more than they actually do.

The other thing this incident said to me was how people really want to look out for others which is really a nice feeling.  I know a lot of people who do not have that in their lives and I feel badly for them.  It is such a wonderful thing to have someone looking out for you even in the little areas of life.  Maybe it means more to me know than it did earlier in my life since I don’t have any family close at hand.  But I think it is always comforting and a blessing to have others looking out for you.  It reminds me that we need to do this for one another.  Everyone needs someone to look out for them.  If you haven’t found someone to do that for, look around and see if there is someone you can be special too.  I know they will appreciate it.

I Thessalonians 5:11; Hebrews 10:24-25

Leave a Reply

