October 23, 2014

I have been really thinking about listening.  I have been trying to listen with more focus and not think about saying something.  I have been finding all sorts of Bible verses about listening and paying attention to the Lord.

Listening is a big deal.  It is important to all of us, but most of all it is important in our relationship with the Lord.  If we never take time to listen, we can’t possible know, really and truly, what the Lord intends for us.

I know I have fallen short of being a good listener to the Lord over and over and I am really working on doing a much better job of listening to him.  I try to sit perfectly still and just listen.  Some mornings I pray first and then listen, but lately I have been trying to listen with out talking first.  For me it is much better.  It helps me not to be distracted and it also helps me pay better attention to what the Lord wants to say to me.

When you think about it, listening makes perfect sense.  We like to have people listen to us, why should we be better listeners .  And our best friend certainly deserves our undivided attention.  I want to hear his still small voice.  Only when I listen is that possible.

Proverbs 2:2; James 1:19

Leave a Reply

