October 25, 22014

For one of my classes this week I have to write about a consequence of social inequality that I can describe and that is different from the readings.  This was rather hard as I knew about the consequences in the readings.  Finally, I looked on the computer and found a very interesting article that describes the levels of trust, chronic stress and number of friends that people have and traces them to social inequality.

In fact the article went so far as to say that a recent study said having friends is more important to your health than not smoking.  This seems huge to me.  I can remember long ago when everyone was in a state about smoking and how much it has changed since those days decades ago.  To think that friend matter even more than that is really something.

Friends are such a big part of life and it seems that we just take them for granted much of the time.  Yet, they are so important to us and so special.  I can’t even imagine not having friends and yet I am sure that this is true for many, many people.

At school I see the kids and how they want to have friends and how easily it is for them to get into disagreements with friends in such a way that they lose those friendships they once coveted.  It is always interesting to me to see new kids move to town and to watch as they find and make friends and who they choose and how quickly it occurs.  It is very telling.  I have never thought about it in terms of social inequality, but maybe I should look around and see if it is a consequence of that.  I truly have no idea.

I do know that I am thankful for my friends and the role they play in my life.  They are such a blessing to me.  I am thankful that I know I can actually call on them at any time if I really need them.

John 15:13-14

Proverbs `8:24; I Samuel 18:3

Leave a Reply

