October 27, 2014

When I went to school this morning, I learned that two more Cordovans had died over the weekend.  One was a man in his seventies and the other was a young woman in her forties I think.  At this point of course the rumors are running rampant all over town about the cause of death.  That to me is not the saddest thing.  The thing that saddens me is that I am not sure  they knew Jesus who makes all the difference.

This is not the first time I have thought of the people who die not knowing Jesus.  It seems to me that they, the woman in particular, had the opportunity to learn about him.  She could have come to any of the programs at the Christian Center or gone to any of the different Sunday Schools in town, but she didn’t.

You always wonder what more you could have done to encourage her to come and even if she did come, to get her to listen and to really understand and accept Jesus as her savior.  That is something I will never know.

I do know that I try as hard as I can to get the kids who come to the afterschool programs to really listen and understand that Jesus loves them and to learn what he can mean to them.  Sometimes it is an uphill battle.  Today the kids were just wiggly as possible and I am not sure how much they listened to the Bible story or understood it.  Some of them listened, but I think over half were wiggly and needed repeated reminding to listen and pay attention.  You can almost always tell how well they listened by their answers after the story.  Sometimes it seems that not very many were listening and others, it seems like many listened.

The good thing is that there will be another opportunity next week and I will try again.

The other good news is that a young woman who grew up here had a baby today.  What a blessing, a new life and another opportunity for a person to come to Jesus.  He continues to give us opportunities to win souls for him.  I will pray that this little one and her brother will go to Sunday School in Texas and learn about Jesus.

I Corinthians 15:55

Leave a Reply

