October 31, 2104

Tonight was the Harvest Festival at the Christian Center which is a glorified way of saying we had games and a cake walk for prizes and candy, hotdogs and hot cocoa and photographs and it was all free.

Things went well and everyone seemed to have a good time.

I was busy taking photos which is when I had my ah ha moment.  One young woman whom I had in 7th and 8th grade language arts long ago came up and asked if I would take a class picture.  I said sure and she told me they weren’t quite ready because more people were coming.

Eventually they got everyone together and stood or squatted in front of the background since there were quite a few of them there.  As I got ready to take the photo, I couldn’t help noticing one young woman was a Filipino that I knew had not gone to school in Cordova.  Another was a young girl who had just graduated this year.

Then came my ah ha moment.  It was not a class photo of the moms, but of the babies.  I am sure this is a normal, probably typical thing for young moms, but I was totally caught off guard.  I realized in that moment that I truly am the out of sync, old one.  I never thought of it being a “class” of the babies, simply the moms.  Maybe that comes from years of doing the yearbook and taking class photos or maybe it is just because people, moms in particular, today are different than moms of years ago.

I mentioned this to another woman who was helping and who is near my age and she laughed and said she understood, but she caught on a little quicker as the women can in the door and began talking about the photo.  I totally missed that conversation.  But I am not saying I would have had my ah ha moment any quicker.  I think not.

Life today is just so different from life just a few years ago.  Well, OK, maybe ten or 15 years ago, but it is different.  I need to think like a digital native.  I might get it if I did.  But I am not sure I can think like that as I don’t know how.

Ah, well.  It does keep life interesting.  No doubt about that.

Proverbs 1:5; 9:9; 10:17; 18:15

Leave a Reply

