November 2, 2014

Today at Sunday School, a little four year old hit an 8 year old in the eye.  Now that is not so surprising in and of itself.  Little boys tend to play rough, but this seemed to be a case of one little boy in the wrong.  And the worst part of it all was that he was not very repentant period.  Even after a talking to, sitting in time out a bit and having to apologize to the other boy, I did not see much of a truly repentant attitude.

It’s not like I have never seen this before or encountered a less than repentant spirit, but it always makes me wonder just how kids come up with this attitude.  Is it of Satan’s doing?  Is it is built in spirit of defiance we are born with?  It is just plain orneryness?  I do not know.  I do know that it makes the adult in charge work harder than normal to try to teach and to get the unrepentant one to understand.

It seems that all of life is a learning experience.  It begins when we are quite young and continues until the day we die.  It makes life interesting and definitely a challenge at times, but it also makes me at least think about the Lord and his goodness, love and mercy for me and how much I appreciate and love him.

I wasn’t the ornery one today, but I have been before in my life.  I hope I can remember this lesson and work harder to make myself a better example of Christ’s love to others.

I Corinthians 13

 

Leave a Reply

