November 30, 2014

It’s hard to believe tomorrow is December 1.  There is a lot to do for Christmas and  yet the biggest t hing on my mind is assignments, exams and then a two day 16 hour ICS 400 class with a big exam that I have to pass or take the class again.

Yest I know that I can’t let that stuff get in the way of the real meaning of Christmas.  So I am confining my preparations  and thoughts to what centers on the meaning and not just things I want to do.

I really want to forget l entirely and just cook up a storm and run around Cordova and deliver the treats.  I’d like to spend hours decorating, but I know that if I take time to write notes of thanks and encouragment to others they will be blessed maybe even more than by a plate of cookies. I think that knowing they are not forgotten is the important thing.  I also know that   just putting up a few special treasures like some of the many nativity sets I have been given will remind me of the reason for Christmas as none of the other decorations can.

The more I think of it , the more convinced I am that this will help me uncover more of the real meaning of Christmas and make me more thankful for my savior and more thoughtful of others.

I remember days  years ago when I would be up late night after night working on projects  give to others.  Finally Richard told me I had to choose one thing to do and I could not choose everything.  I chose photography then, but I think I am in danger of needing to make that decision again as I am,sorely tempted to choose a lot more than one thing to do.  Being forced to limit my work will help me think and pray and make better decisions I hope.

I do have to keep it as a matter of daily prayer.

Proverbs 3:5-6; James 1:5; I John 5:14

Leave a Reply

