1-28-15

When I left the hospital tonight after visiting my friend, I noticed how much lighter it was and I realized that the days are really getting longer.  The additional light really makes you appreciate the longer days and I thought again and not for the first time, how much we or maybe it is only I appreciate things when I do not have them.  Although I really love the dark and street lights with snow falling, I still love the longer days which are such a great part of Alaska.

I appreciate the sun so much more than I did when I lived in California where it was sunny almost all of the time.  Tonight when I got home, the hall smelled terrible and when I got upstairs to the kitchen I was so thankful that the smell was not there, but as I first smelled it I realized I don’t usually feel thankful for the lack of smell in my house.

It is when I miss something or I am reminded of it that I become thankful and realize sometimes anew and other times afresh how little I recognize and give thanks for certain things in my life.

I have long been aware of the fact that once something is missing or we begin to wish for it, that is when we begin to be really appreciative of it.  Absence truly does make us fonder of what we are missing.

How much better off we would be if we could only lay hold of what we appreciate when we have it in abundance and be truly thankful rather than discovering when it is missing how we long for it and then belatedly give thanks for it.

I need to be more aware of my surroundings every day.  I never even thought of smell or the absence of smell that is not too good.  I have thought of the sun.  I have thought of the beauty of nature, of flowers, of birds, of the mountain tops, but other common aspects of my life–not so much.

I truly am thankkful for the many blessings God has provided in my life–friends, family, nature, sun, rain, snow, a good car, food.  The list is endless.  I have much for which to give thanks and I am very thankful I am able and aware so that I might give thanks.

A friend of Richard’s used to pray that he was thankful he woke up in his right mind that morning.  Now that is something to be thankful for as well.  If we look about us, we will discover a host of things for which we can and should be thankful.

I am thankful I can write to you.  God bless you.

Leave a Reply

