Chocolate Banana Cake

I was able to come home from school early today due to Spring Break so I had time to make a cake for the folks at the grocery store.  When I was contemplating what to do with ripe bananas and was listing off choices and ideas, one guy requested the chocolate banana cake I suggested.  I haven’t made it in many years, but the recipe is written in my son’s handwriting as I remember him telling me it was a keeper.  Here it is.

1 pkg. Devils Food cake mix

1 C mashed ripe bananas

2 eggs

1/3 C water

1 C sour cream

Mix altogether and bake for 25 minutes in 350 oven.  I used two 9 inch pans greased and lined with parchment paper.

Cool completely.  I turned mine out of the pans after 10 minutes to cook on the baking racks.

Frosting

1 small pkg instant banana pudding

1 C cold milk

1 entire tub of whipped topping like Cool Whip

Put pudding and milk in mixer and mix thoroughly.  Add Cool Whip and blend together.

Let sit 5 minutes until it thickens up.

Frost as you would for any cake.  Amazingly the frosting does not run and stays put on the cake.

Enjoy.

Granted, this is not a St. Patrick’s Day dessert, but I am willing to guess that it was enjoyed by all the employees at the store.  I am sure I will know tomorrow and let you know.

God bless you.

Leave a Reply

