April 29, 2015

Another teacher and I were discussing a particular student and the GED exam.  I told her that the new GED is much harder than the old one and it now costs money to take it and it is different.  I agreed with her that a GED is much better than being a dropout.

In thinking about this it is interesting to me that students today do not want to try to get a high school diploma.  I know my parents would have not put up with my leaving school or not graduating.

This particular student is capable and could pass the high school classes without a lot of work, but it would definitely take some effort.

I am strange in that I always wanted to be a school teacher and I was oriented toward that goal and knew what was required to get to it.  I realize that today’s world is very different from the one in which I grew up, and that people often have multiple careers during their lifetime.  However, the thing that tends to stump me is the fact that students today have absolutely no hint of anything they might want to do in life.  I can even imagine wild goals, but no goal?

This is the thing that boggles my mind.  Maybe it is my age, or maybe it really is that times have changed.  I don’t honestly know.  I do know that it is something I don’t understand.

I hope your day has gone well.

God bless you.

Leave a Reply

