Lessons learned this summer

One of the things I miss most about my husband being in heaven is that I have no one to talk with at home.  I do talk.  I talk aloud to myself and to God, but it is not quite the same.  After this summer I realize that my husband put up with a lot from me.  I really do talk too much.  It has become evident that this is something I do without realizing it and it really bothers people.  Hence, I am trying to concentrate more on the words from James and guard my tongue, but it is really difficult for me and I am not particularly successful.

A related lesson to this is not being a good listener.  I need to practice my listening skills and of course this would be easier to do if I stopped talking so much.  Whew, it is hard to see your faults in print, but it is helpful.  It will take a lot of prayer and dogged determination to accomplish this, but I think I can do it and I am to try.

I’ve known for a long time that I tend to be a keeper of things and this leads to lots of clutter.  I have been trying to toss things out  and I thought I was being pretty successful, but viewed through the eyes of others I realize I have a long way to go.  I have been able to organize a very few things this summer, but I need to organize a lot o others beginning with paperwork.  The good news is that I do have an empty file drawer where I can start to organize my paper and I have two big trashcans to use for the clutter I need to throw out.

Now I need to organize my schedule to have time to accomplish this task.

Leave a Reply

