Seek, Ask, Knock

Ask, Seek, Knock:  Matthew 7:7-12

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

“Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! 12 So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

These verses are very familiar to me and I love to sing the “secret songs” one of our long time volunteers brought to Cordova.

I know this refers to asking the Lord, but I was reminded this morning that you have to ask to actually find something.

When we made the donuts, we got the cake donuts to turn out perfectly.  The old fashioned were a different story.  The taste was right, but that was about it.

I could not find a site on the Internet to offer any tips so I wrote a short note to the company where I got the cake donut tips.

This morning I got a call from a guy at the company and during the conversation in which he asked me lots of information, he told me exactly what to do to make them turn out better and I wrote it all down.  It’s all in the temparature and amount of the water as well as the length of mixing time.  This is all something we can defintely control and our next attempt should be a lot better.  When I hung up the phone, the verses in Matthew came immediately to mind.

I wonder how often we fail to ask for the help we need and we just keep muddling on, on our own when help is right there if we just stop and ask for it.  It is surprising how much help we can get when we ask.

I know I was blessed by this guy’s call and the help he gave me and I pray you will ask and be blessed too.

God bless you.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

