September 1, 2015

The sign outside the high school by the highway which announces events, etc, said Sept. 1, 2015  Second day, school still open.

I thought that was a pretty cool little joke.  It might not have made everyone laugh, but I got a chuckle out of it.  What a great way to start the day I thought.

Friends.  Friends are really wonderful and it is great that we can count on them when we have real needs.

This morning I had to deliver snacks and dessert for lunch to the church where the men are painting the building.  When I got back in the car, the steering wheel locked and the car would not start.

I have had this problem in the past and I researched it and found that the driver is supposed to step hard on the brake a few times and the car will start.  This has always worked for me until this morning.

Coupled with the fact that my anti-theft light has been coming on a lot and that the car’s manual indicates that the car may quit starting, I was a little flustered.  So I started calling friends.  The first two were not home but the third guy suggested I move the car out of park.  I would not budge.  Then he asked me if the wheel moved a little.  It did.  He told me to move it back and forth and then try to start the car.  Lo and behold it worked.  I thanked him and got on my way to school.

I am so thankful for friends who are there for me in my time of need.  And I am thankful I have more than one so if one is not home, I can call someone else.

Proverbs reminds us that a friend sticks closer than a brother and this is true.

God bless you.

Leave a Reply

