Joy

It’s interesting to me how quickly you can have the joy zapped out of your day it you let it happen.  I went to work feeling quite happy and encouraged.  I hadn’t been there long until I had a phone call from a friend with a similar job and she told me how difficult things were where she was located.  I felt badly for her, but I still felt joyful myself.  We worked through a problem we had encountered and I felt good about our solution.

When I got off the phone and happened to say something about it to another person at work, I was startled by their reaction.  It was a strong enough reaction that the joy I had been feeling felt like it was fast fading away.

I was able to step back and look at the situation from another perspective and readdress the issue and find a workable solution, but I realized once again how important it is for us to choose joy, to choose happiness and not to allow ourselves to feel as though someone was robbing us of that joy.

It wasn’t easy, but it was possible and I had to work to keep from letting it slip from my grasp.  I was reminded of how important it is for us to keep our eyes focused on Jesus and to count our blessings over and over.  Without that, it is quite possible and even easy for us to let joy slip away from us.

I am praying that God will help me keep my eyes on him and trust him for answers when difficult times arise.

Be blessed and be joyful.

Leave a Reply

