Patience

When I was younger I always thought I had a lot of patience, but as I have grown older I have discovered that I do NOT have as much patience as I thought I had.  I have to remind myself to be patient in all sorts of situations.

I have always believed that patience is a wonderful virtue and I certainly appreciate other people’s patience as well.  I’ve been waiting for some business with my tax preparer to be finished and he keeps telling me to be patient, to continue to be patient.  I hear that comment a lot in the society in which I live.

I think that in order for me to be patient, I have to exercise more trust and more faith in God.  He is my only hope for patience.  It is one of the fruits of the spirit and I have often taught these fruits to children in Sunday School, Good News Kids and Kids of the Kingdom.  I know what it takes to gain and maintain patience.  It takes faith, trust and God’s love.

For me it also takes not focusing on the issue or problem, but turning my sight to something else, something that is a blessing in my life and that helps me realize it is not about whatever it was or is that I am having problems being patient about.

I was thinking of a couple of women who have great health concerns and needs and then I thought about my own health.  It is really pretty good.  I do have problems with pain from scoliosis, but what is that compared to their needs.  I can be patient with my own health.  It truly is a matter of perspective.  Philippians 4:8 has become my go to verse for what I need to turn my attention toward and that helps me gain the patience I know God wants me to exhibit.

God bless you as you strive for patience today and every day.

Leave a Reply

