Zucchini

The other day a young girl brought me a huge zucchini at school.  I took it into my classroom and put it on my desk.  Several kids asked what it was and one boy told them it was a zucchini.  They asked me if he was right and I quickly told them he was.  I thought it was interesting that they had never seen a big zucchini previously.

It brought my days as a Girl Scout back to mind.  I remember putting too many seeds in each mound of dirt against my Grandmother’s directions and reaping an enormous harvest of zucchini.  I had to go on the local radio station and give away recipes and promises of zucchini.  I had to go up and down the sidewalk on our block with a little red wagon filled with zucchini trying to give it away.  It ended up not being a lot of fun.  I learned to follow directions and to be more careful when I planted seeds the next time.

This zucchini was a lot of fun.  I made chocolate zucchini bread, several fritattas with sauteed zucchini as a main ingredient and tomorrow I am going to make regular zucchini bread.  I also am planning to make zucchini coffee cake.  I am sure it will be fun.  I love to cook and to try new recipes and I love zucchini so I am bound to have a good time in the kitchen.

I am thankful for unexpected gifts and for the opportunity to share them.

God bless you.

 

Leave a Reply

