October 22, 2015

When the new Cordova City Center opened, the City offices moved in.  Judging from outside appearances, I expected several floors and some directions.  I had to go opay m y city sale tax so I prepared my forms and wrote my check and drove to the new partking lot.  I was a little surprised that there was no handrail by the stairs since I thought you had to have a rain for ADA requirements.

At any rate I climbed the stairs and went in.  I saw an elevator and stairs so I decided to use the stairs.  I had heard that the offices were on the second floor.  There are a lot of stairs and there are floors in between or at least so it seems.  There was the vestibule, the foyer and the conference room.  I kept climging.  At the top (or at least what I assumed was the top) there was ahand written sign advising Cordovans that the city offices were on the next floor down.

Once I got to that level I saw nothing.  A person I know walked by so I asked where to go.  “Oh, back that way hea said.”  I started walking and eventually came uipon a person I recognized so I knew I was in the right place.  I said, “You guys are hard to find.  You need some signs.”

Her reply was, “Oh, we’re workingon it.”

Seriously, in the meantime they need to put up some handlettered signs on all floors directing people.  Empty rooms just don’t work in this case. There is no doubt that it is a beautiful buiding, but it really is not quite ready for the public.  Time will tell and hopefully, it will be better organized in the future.

Have a wonderful day.

 

Leave a Reply

