January 2

Today I met my oldest granddaughter’s boyfriend.  He wasn’t anything like I expected.  He looked different and he acted differently, but that was not a bad thing at all.  It was just the initial shock of meeting him for the first time that made me realize it is best if you try not to have any preconceived notions in any situation.  I find myself doing this at other times too.  I go into a meeting with certain anticipations and that is not always a good thing.  Things don’t go as I had hoped and I realize that I am spending time thinking the process through and not concentrating on what is really being said.  I need to be totally in the present to do my best job and represent the fruits of the spirit that I long to show in my life.  I need to be patient, to be gentle and to exercise self-control in all areas of life.  If I really mean what I say, I need to show these spirits in my attitude as well as in my actions and speech.  It’s a tall order, but one that Christ will strengthen me to accomplish.  I am working on it.

Father, help me to exercise patience and to really live in the present all the time.  Amen.

Philippians 1:20

Leave a Reply

