January 21

People in Cordova love basketball.  My husband used to tell me about basketball in Indiana and he said it was more intense there, but that Cordova was a good rival for that intensity.  When I got to the school to watch the Cordova kids play, the roads were lined with cars and the parking lots were almost filled.  And Cordova had not played yet.

I have often wished that people exhibited this intensity for following Christ.  What a difference that would make.  But then I realized that a recent comment by a woman I know probably accounts for that lack of intensity.  She told me she did not go to any church because people at the churches had not invited her or taken the time to speak to her and she wasn’t going to go.  I have experienced people not speaking to me so I know what she means, but I am too stubborn not to go to church.  I know I would miss it too much.  It is a big part of my life.

Her comment brought me up short, however.  I wonder how many other people do not attend church for a similar reason.  What a shame and what an indictment on the people who do go to church regularly.

We need to really consider our actions and the effects they have on others.

Father, help me to be really thoughtful of others and realize daily how my reactions reflect on you and how others respond to them.  Amen.

Titus 1:16

Leave a Reply

