January 26

Today I finished a knitting project for one of my granddaughters.  It only took three days to my surprise.  I had completed this same project a few months ago with much difficulty.  What made the diffierence?  I don’t think it was simply due to repeating the same pattern.  I think the answer lies in the “trick of the trade” a friend taught me.  You use a marker each time you need to repeat a line in the pattern.  This keeps you on track and really does prevent errors.  Even if you make an error, you discover it in just a few stitches and can correct it easily.

It does look a little funny with more than a dozen markers on your needle, but what a difference it makes, at least to me.  And how nice to have a friend share it with me.  I like accomplishing a task, finishing a project.  But I like being able to work in community even more.  You start to knit and others who knit offer suggestions which make a huge difference.  How much more difficult it would be if you just confined your knitting to being all alone.

Working in community is what Christ has called us to and this is just a small example of the difference community makes. Now that I am basically alone, I see the value of community increasing all the time.  For me, it makes all the difference in the world.

Father, I am never alone or without you, but I thank you for the community you give me which encourages, uplifts and make a huge difference in life.  Amen.

Hebrews 10:24-25; Galatians 6:2; Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Leave a Reply

