February 15

Aw, I’ve done it again.  I put something small in my pocket when I should have put it where it belongs and now I can’t find it.  I even remember thinking to myself, “don’t do this. It’s not a good idea.”

Maybe being frustrated with myself is good for me.  It will remind me to do things right the first time and not to hurry.  I just pray I can find it, but in the meantime I am practicing not fretting.

This incident also bring to mind the fact that I tend to put off doing the things for myself that I know I ouight to do, like daily exercise.  I was thinking about this while I reading my devotions this morning.  I realized that I save a little time to spend with Jesus every day and no time for myself.  I need to make the time I spend with God the most important time every day and I need to carve out a little time for myself as well.  I know this is true.  My life would be a lot better if I did this.

How can I make myself do it?  For me, I think it is like mind over matter.  I can do most anything I make up my mind to do.  If it is really important I will find a way to do it.  I think this is why I don’t tend to procrastinate over school work and things like that.  But there is also accountability in those situations.  I don’t have anyone holding me accountable over my time with God and time for myself.  I will just have to make myself accountable.

Here’s to accountability and to doing things right.

Father, help me be accountable and to keep my commitment to time with you.  Amen.

Matthew 6:33; 6:6; Romans 10:17

 

Leave a Reply

