February 18

Old things sometimes seem like new things.

We have a very old piece of equipment in the Christian Center which folds up to be put away.  It stays in plain sight, but most of the time, no one pays any attention to it.

The other night a little girl wanted me to get it out.  Honestly, I was’t sure I could do it by myself, but she was big enough to help so I thought I would give it a try.  We got it set up and she really enjoyed playing on it.  I asked the preschool teacher to leave it up so we could play on it during our Thursday activity.

The kids had so much fun playing.  It was like the equipment was brand new and they had never seen it before.  It was fun watching them.

When it was time to go home, the sisters of one little boy came with the mom to pick him up and one of them whispered to me , “please keep it out until we come on Monday,”  their activity night.  I wasn’t surprised.

If we just look, the simplest things often bring the greatet pleasure.

Father, thank you for the joy we find in small things.  Help us not to forget to just look around us and see what’s there.  Amen.

Psalm 27:4; 34:8

Leave a Reply

