February 20

I have a dress that I would describe as brown with small beige flowers scattered on the background. I am not fond of brown clothes on myself, but this dress was a gift and it is very comfortable and I wear it often.

The interesting thing is that when I put it on and stand in front of the mirror in the bathroom I am convinced that this dress is really a deep plum or purple and the flowers are a gold color.  It is all in my perception or maybe it is the light that makes the difference.

I think this is the way so many of our perceptions function.  We look at a certian situation and we think we see how it is.  Then something shifts and we look at it in a different light.  We see people and we think we know how they will respond.  We’ve see them in this situation before, but then something shifts, another person enters the room, and they respond differently.

Our perceptions are not always accurate or maybe it is more correct to say that how we perceive something or someone changes as the situation changes.  Whatever causes this shift, the important thing is to realize that our perceptions are not always completely accurate and hopefully, this should remind us that there is often more to a particular person or a situation than first meets the eye.

If you are prone to snap decisions, this insight is particularly important as it should help you slow down and get things in focus.  I don’t think I tend toward snap decisions, but I know I tend to trust my first impression or perception and this reminds me that I need to be careful before I act.  I need to look again and see what is really going on.  My dress is a good reminder for me to do just that.

Father, you know me better than I know myself.  Help me to let you guide my perceptions and decisions and to exercise caution and care throughout the day.  Thank you for giving me wisdom. Amen.

Proverbs 3:5-6; James 1:5; Proverbs 11:14

Leave a Reply

