March 29

Planting the seed…..

As Christians we always talk about planting the seed and then expecting someone else to harvest it.  I think this applies in all sorts of situations, not just the church.

I have a young girl in one of my classes who is very artistic and really loves art.  She likes to make zentangles and they are quite good.  I suggested that she start doing them in a smaller size that could be framed.  I told her I thought she could sell them.  (She is always looking for ways to make money.)

She didn’t take to my suggestion even though I made it more than once.  Then I just shut up.  Recently she went to visit a relative and while she was there she was using her notebook and making zentangles.  Her uncle told her to start making them smaller into a collage to frame and sell and now she eager to do that.

As I was thinking about this I realized that it was a case of someone planting a seed and then another person reaping the harvest of that seed.  Now I realize that we have not seen the harvest yet, but I think it is in progress.

We never know how important the things we say are to others and we also never know when we might be the one to help in the harvest of a seed that someone else planted.

I feel blessed to be a part of this particular seed and look forward to seeing the harvest.

Father,  your world is so wonderful and you give us such great opportunities.  I am truly amazed and blessed.  Help me to plant seeds and to be ready for the harvest. Amen.

2 Corinthians 9:6; Proverbs 11:24-25

Leave a Reply

