March 25

When times are tight

When we first moved here times were very tight.  We had a few items on our menu that made their appearance almost weekly.  I was reminded of one of them last night when I received an invitation to Easter dinner from a family in church.  When I asked what I could bring, I heard the dad holler out in the background “Potato-wiener bake.”  This was immediately followed by a loud no from his wife.  The ultimate answer to my question was that they would let me know.

For old times sake I am going to make a small dish of potato wiener bake for a side dish and I will bring whatever else they request.

Potato wiener bake is easy and economical and kids love it. Here I the recipe.

Pre-boil any amount of potatoes you want. Cut wieners in 1/2 inch or inch pieces.  Grate cheddar cheese. Make a white sauce with 4 TBS butter melted to which you add 4 TBLS flour.  Stir together and then add 1-1 1/2 C milk.  Stir in slowly and cook until it boils.  Add 2 C grated cheese and stir until it melts.  Layer potatoes, wieners and white sauce and a sprinkling of cheese in a baking dish.  Continue layering in this order until you reach the top of the pan or have as much as you want.  Finish with a good layer of grated cheese.  Bake for 25 minutes in a 350 oven until bubbly.  It’s delicious and I don’t even really like wieners.

I love memories.  They bring back some of the most special times in our lives and we can be thankful for the love that surrounds them.  This man ate a lot of dinners at our house as my son’s best friend.  I am sure this dish evokes good memories for him too.

Memories are just one of the many blessings we get from God.

Father, thank you for memories that continue to bless us through the years and thank you for meeting our needs throughout our lives.  Amen.

Luke 16:25; John 14:26

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

