April 4

There is a time for everything—-a time to be silent and a time to speak.

Although I have read Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 many times, I think I have just lumped all of these things together and never considered them separately.  The verse that struck me in particular was part of verse 7:  a time to be silent and a time to speak.

I was confronted by a particular situation in the past and it recently came to my attention that this situation might bear significance for someone now.  I had been trying to decide whether or not to speak or to be silent.  I spoke to a couple of people I know and they encouraged me to speak.  After praying about it, I decided to do just that.  Now I have to wait until I see the person I need to speak with and choose my words with care.

There is a time for everything and know which time it is needs to be what we consider. The list in Ecclesiastes is a list of opposites, but I want to reread it often to remind myself just what those times are and how they are related to my life on any specific day.  And through it all I know that God is there is give me the guidance and direction I need to make the decisions before me.

Father, I am continually amazed how your word speaks to me every day and in every situation.  I am so thankful for tht wisdom and guidance.  Amen

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

 

 

Leave a Reply

