April 9

Today was my Mom’s birthday.

Of course she is not here to celebrate.  She is in heaven.  She would have been 111.  My brother called me as I knew he might.  He never forgets our mother’s birthday.  It was good to talk with him and to catch him up on all the comings and goings of my family.  He caught me up on some of the comings and goings in his family too, but mostly he wanted to hear more about my family.

Since he lives in California, I see him very seldom.  I have never been able to convince him to come visit me in Alaska and I suspect I won’t ever be able to.  I saw him last summer after 15 years since the last time I had seen him.  He told me he wished my daughter and her family would move to Oregon or Washington because then I would visit them and he might see me.Somehow I don’t think that move will happen either.

He does dash around both in and out of the US, but apparently Alaska is just not on his agenda.  Since I had such a hard time finding him after the big fire in his community last year. I guess it is probably up to me to go visit him rather than vice versa.

I am thankful for the telephone which keeps us in contact even though even that is not as often as I would like.  I am sure we both let busyness get in the way which is not the way it should be.

We need to make family a priority and I have been thinking about that a lot lately and figuring out what I should do about it.  I need to pray more about it and see what God wants me to do. I need to find his will for me in this matter.

Father, you are my guide in all things.  Help me to discern your will in this matter.  Amen.

Isaiah 32:17; James 1:5

Leave a Reply

