April 20

Prayer requests

Today I received several new prayer requests both through my email and in person through students at school.  Several of them are really serious health problems and others are student problems with grades and graduation.  All of them make me feel somewhat alarmed, but the minute I wrote that and even thought it, I also realized that my job is to pray and to put this in God’s hands.

This week we received an amazing prayer update on a person we have been praying for who is starting to get better in spite of all the predictions from the doctors.  It just makes me know how important it is to concentrate on praying and leaving it up to God.  Of course we can tell him what we want and how we feel, but we have to leave it in his hands and accept that he is in charge.

I have struggled with this most of my adult life and I have to keep reminding myself to be like a child and have that faith that is unshakeable.  For me that is best.  I think of the video we showed this week to the Good News Kids and we will show it tomorrow to the Kids of the Kingdom.  It shows Peter admonishing the mothers to go away and Jesus calling out to them to bring the children to him.  The children come and just sit in adoration on his lap and you can see the trust in their eyes.  I need to be like one of those children.

Just talking about it brings me peace which blesses me.

Father, help me to keep that image of the child in my mind and let it prompt me to trust in your perfect answers to our prayers. Amen.

Philippians 4:6; John 15:7

 

Leave a Reply

