May 2

Pain is relative.

I thought my back hurt a lot, but I discovered that the pain I was feeling is truly not as great as I thought.  I went to the doctor and I do indeed have shingles.  The pain from shingles is pretty intense compared with my back pain.  Whew!

I think this is a good lesson for me and hopefully for others.  A lot of things in life are actually relative.  We think they are a big deal, but in all honesty when we really look at them, they don’t turn out to be as big of a deal as we thought.

I try to remember Richard’s advice.  He always asked me what is the worst thing that can happen here?  I would give him my answers and then he would ask me, “So if that happened, would it be the end of the world?”  And of course I knew the answer, it would not be the end of the world.

Sometimes it is easy to think something is the biggest “deal” on earth when it is actually not.  In fact most things are like that.

So, for now, the pain from shingles has made me reconsider my daily pain from scoliosis.  And it has made me thankful for whatever medicine I take that dulls it some.  That is a blessing.

Father, I am so thankful for your lessons in life and for the way you care for me.  Where would I be without you. Amen.

Psalm 41:3

Leave a Reply

