June 13

Who knew?

The car doctor, i.e. mechanic, came to pay a house call on my car.  Of course it started right up the first time and hesitantly the second time.  He whipped out his computer and programmed in the info and the vin number and soon pronounced the problem.  The fuel is running too rich and it needs new spark plugs.  Plus, and here is the interesting thing, I don’t drive it enough or far enough.  The prescription:  I need to drive it to the airport which is 13 miles at least once a week.  Of course you can go faster on this road so that probably has something to do with it too.

To say I was surprised is an understatement.  I would have never guessed that would be a big part of the problem.  But now that I do, I will start to take it out “on the road” every week.

The wife of the car doctor started to patiently explain to my why it is going to need parts etc because it is eight years old.  I told her I understood that things were not built to last as long as in former years and she excitedly told her husband that “She gets it.”  It is planned obsolescence. We saw a YOu Tube video about this in Sociology so I had a pretty good understanding of how this works in modern times.

It was definitely an interesting visit and outcome and I am happy to have an answer to the problem at last.

Father, answers come in the most interesting ways.  I need to follow the prescription to make my car function better.  Thank you.  Amen

Matthew 7:7

Leave a Reply

