July 9

Interesting development………..

We’ve been trying to sell unwanted items on the local classified site and we have been fairly successful.  However, today we had a strange development.  A guy in Massachusetts wanted to buy a used Jacuzzi tub and have it shipped to him.  When I told him I thought it could be over $1000, he texted that he knew that.

Unfortunately this whole thing reminded me of the darkroom equipment I listed for free on Craig;s list with the recipient paying the shipping.  The guy who answered my ad was in Rhode Island and before he finally got the shipment he was really, really angry with me because he thought the shipping was a lot more than he expected.

I know it is hard for others to understand because they don’t realize how much shipping is from a very remote location in Alaska.  Plus the fact that Alaska is a lot farther away from other places in the Lower 48 than they realize.

In the end today, we withdrew the item for sale.  It just didn’t seem to be working and was going to involve a lot more work on my part with involving Western Union and some non-local shipper.

There are so many things about Alaska that people who don’t live here just don’t understand.  I remember the first time I said we had five types of salmon when I was talking to a church in Indiana.  A nice man stood at the end of my talk and said gently, “I know you think there are five types of salmon, but we all know there are only two.”  I was young and new at speaking and I thought maybe I had misunderstood this fact so I didn’t question him.  Now I would not hesitate to speak up and give him the salmon facts.

Alaska is simply an amazing, astounding place to live and to share with others, but at times like today, you simply can’t really impress the facts on others.

Father, I am blessed to live in Alaska and to be able to share it with others.  I am thankful for your guidance and your love which blesses me each and every day of my life.  Help me to be brave enough to speak up when I do know the facts, but help me to do it in a gentle way.  Amen.

Genesis 1:1-31; James 1:19; Proverbs 15:1

 

One thought on “July 9

  1. I remember during my first sharing of my ABW trip to Alaska a few years ago I called all indigenous people Eskimos. Wouldn’t you know that there was a lady in attendance from Alaska who set me straight.

Leave a Reply

