August 4

Old habits die hard…

Do you suppose it is because they are so ingrained in our lives?  Today I was cleaning my desk at the college and I decided to move my computer screens to the other side where the light is better.  This involved moving the printer and cleaning off the top of my desk.

There was a lot of stuff on the desktop and I was so tempted to just sweep it all into a drawer.  Actually I hate to admit it, but the only thing that prevented me from doing so was the fact that the drawers were too full to contain what needed to be swept off the top.  I had to find a place for the phone books and documents on a nearby shelf and I brought a bunch of junk home to go through.

I have a book titled “File…don’t pile” that my husband bought for me long ago.  I still like piles better than filing and I am still tempted to clean by piling things up neatly.  I am trying to overcome this habit, but it is definitely not easy.

As I was cleaning out a drawer on my desktop I could not believe all the junk I had saved up.  It is really pitiful and yet I am still tempted to keep right on doing it.  I think a lifetime of not really cleaning and putting things away correctly except for a few times in my life have contributed to this sorrowful habit.

The only thing I can say in my defense is that I am really trying not to keep doing so.  The best thing is that tomorrow is a new day and there are always new opportunities to do the right thing.  To file and not to pile….to put away correctly in the right place and not to sweep it into the nearest drawer.  I know what I need….a desk without drawers and no shelves nearby.  Maybe that would cure me.  I can only hope.

Father, thank you for loving me imperfections and all.  Help me to really work to develop new, good habits.  Amen.

Proverbs 6:6

Leave a Reply

