August 19

When you get this age….

I remember fretting over the fact that I thought I would have a hard time cooking when I grew up.  My mother always gave me her stock reply, “When you are as old as I am now, you will know how to cook.”  Since she had me in her thirties, I did not find this very comforting.

When I got older and was just married, I used to fret that I would never be able to cook as well as she did.  She gave me her stock reply, “When you are as old as i am now, you will know how to cook very well.”  Then she added, “You will get better at cooking the older you get.”

I remember wondering about that.  I wish she could have lived to see what a great cook her granddaughter has turned out to be–far better than her mother.  I can hear her now telling me that I need to take lessons from my daughter.

I think it is easy to fret and it is also easy to think that when you get to be a certain age, some things will be a lot easier.  I know I have thought this repeatedly over the years.  I have come to realize, however, that some things do not get easier just because of age.  Now they are complicated by technology, time and a host of other factors.

Just last night I was thinking I only had one more major hurdle in the college arena for this year and I was hoping for a positive answer.  I got that positive answer today, but then a problem that I thought was solved satisfactorily popped up again and I need to look into it.

I may have misinterpreted the email and I hope that is true.  I also know I can talk with the person in charge again and try to resolve it if I did interperet it correctly.  It is certainly not a done deal as they say, but I was thinking to myself that by this time I should know better than to think everything will be solved eventually and run smoothly.  It does not seem to be that way.

On the other hand, there is truly nothing to fret over because God does have it in his hand and I am reminded that he will make straight my path as I acknowledge him.

Father, I am so glad you are in charge and not me.  I couldn’t handle it that I know for sure.  I thank you i advance for what you did today and what you are going to do tomorrow, and the next day and the next.  You are amazing.  Amen.

Proverbs 3:6

Leave a Reply

