September 20

Decisions, decisions, decision…..

We are confronted with decisions daily.  Students must decide if they are going to do the work assigned and if they do it, will they turn it in.  Teachers are confronted with how much work to assign their students.  Parents are confronted with decisions when it comes to disciplining their children.  The list of decisions in daily life continues and is endless.

When decisions become overwhelming we need to take a step back and remember the most important decision we ever made–the decision to follow Jesus and become his disciple.  Decisions are important, but they pale in comparison with the decision to follow Christ.  This is decision that changed our life and continues to change it.  This decision makes it easier to answer the other decisions in our lives.

Now when we are confronted with any decision, we must ask ourselves what would Jesus do and then our answers become easier to determine.

I don’t want to discredit the difficulty in making certain decisions, but when we take that step back, pause and think about how Jesus would answer this choice, I think it is much easier to answer.  I know that when I have to decide whether or not to make bread for someone who needs encouragement, I can put aside my fatigue, get out the flour and sugar and go to work.  When I have to decide whether or not to keep reading for pleasure or working on school pictures, I can put my Kindle down and go to the computer and get to work.  It sounds like this is easy, but in fact that is not always the case.  However, being prodded in the right direction by my decision to do what Jesus would do pushes me along.

I admit that I do not always ask that question when it comes to doing something for myself and yet I know that is important and Jesus wants to take care of me.  It is my job to listen and to keep reminding myself of the essential question.  When I really do that, my path is clear.

What would Jesus do?  That is always the question we must answer.

Father, thank you for your patience, for your love, for your guidance.  Thank you for giving me decisions to make and for reminding me to seek your will.  Please guide me and remind me to ask What would Jesus do.  Amen.

Proverbs 16:1-33; Psalm 25:4

 

Leave a Reply

