September 24

Running around…..

That’s what it felt like today.  I ran around all day and prepared for coming events.

Sometimes in the midst of running around, doing erands and getting things ready, I feel overwhelmed by the need to take a few minutes to stop and just do nothing.  I used to ignore those feelings, but now I realize God is prompting me to take that time and just listen to him.

I know running around is not always as productive as it could be, but those errands do call out to be completed.  I also know that running around can be helpful if you let the situations guide you rather than youir watch or cell phone.  When you take time to really listen to a friend who is sharing with you, when you stop and give your complete attention to the persons waiting in line with you at the Post office, when you let someone go ahead of you at the grocery store–then you can find purpose in your running around and let the Holy Spirit guide you.

This is not easy for me as I tend to be guided by the time everything take.  I am really working to slow down and stop more often.  I need to do this.

Father, you know my heart and you know that I don’t always listen to it like I should.  Forgive me and help me to spend more time with you every day.  Amen

Matthew 6:33

Leave a Reply

