October 4

A visit from Valdez…..

Today my supervisors came for a visit from the college in Valdez.  They brought the head IT guy which was a blessing as he brought new computers and fixed a lot of things that needed his attention.

I had made five appointments as the chief director of the college had asked for and we even threw in an impromptu visit to the Certified Nurse Assistant instructor.

One appointment lasted one hour and forty minutes which was forty minutes longer than I had planned for, but it just cut down the lunch time.  He wanted to go to the taco bus as he called Baja Taco and fortunately it was their last day and they were giving away free chocolate chip cookies.  I had a fish taco and I ended up making some for dinner although I substituted lettuce for cabbage since my volunteer does not like cabbage.

The meetings were interesting.  I just listened and took notes as he and the person we were visiting did most of the talking.  Once in a while the other guy who is my direct supervisor said something but for the most part he was quiet too.

I learned a lot of things that I did not know before today and I also heard some things that I did know, but heard clarified which was helpful.

The director told most people he was planting seeds and would be watching to see which ones were fertilized and grew.  At one point he even quoted the parable of the sower from the Bible which was very interesting to me.

All in all it was a good day and quite interesting, but tonight I feel tired.  That’s kind of silly when all I did was drive, try to keep him on schedule and listen and take notes.  I was glad I didn’t have anything else to do after I visited at the hospital, came home and made dinner and also some pumpkin bread to deliver to laundry room staff at the hospital.  When I saw how many clothes the CNAs put in the closet for the woman I visit every day, I knew I needed to do something for the laundry staff.  That is a lot of work to do every day.

I am thankful for a good day, but I am also thankful for being home and going to bed early to read.

Father, thank you for a good day and one that worked out well.  I feel your love and mercy m ore than ever. I love you.  Amen.

Hebrews 4:16

 

 

Leave a Reply

