October 7

Differences….

I’ve been thinking a lot about differences in people.  Brother and sister are raised by the same parents and yet they turn out completely different.  One person is raised in a home where alcohol is present and used by the parents and that person determines not to use alcohol in their own life.  Another person is raised in a home where alcohol is present and used by the parents and that person becomes a frequent alcohol user and becomes addicted to it.  What made the difference?

I am quite sure that there are more features at work in these situations that is readily apparent.  Maybe the one person turned to the church and God and that influenced his decisions.  Maybe another person was influenced more by the culture he grew up in and his friends rather than his family.

I feel fairly confident in saying that I’ll probably never really know and understand the difference, but that doesn’t make me any less likely to want to figure it out.  When I see what drinking and drugs do to people and to kids in particular, I am drawn to finding out all I can to forestall some of this behavior and activity.

I am inclined to believe that it comes down to making a choice, a decision and sticking to it throughout life.  If you determine that certain behaviors are not ones you are going to try or indulge in, you are likely to stick with that decision, especially as you remind yourself of that decision.  If, on the other hand, don’t make a thought out decision and come to the question of whether or not you are going to try a certain behavior, it is more likely that you will be swayed by those around you to try it out.

I am a big proponent of thinking things through in advance of the possible option of the behavior.  If you have a solid decision, you will be more likely to stick to it.

These are just my ramblings on the subject.  I think deciding in advance is always the bet policy because I have seen it work.  We’ll see how this bears out in the future.

Father, thank you for giving me the decision making ability that has stood me in good stead all of my life.  Help me to make a difference with others.  Amen.

James 1:5; Proverbs 3:5-6

 

Leave a Reply

