October 13

Too much information…..

We hear this phrase when someone is giving us what appears to be personal information and the person stating TMI is trying to stop the information sharing.

Personally, I have been thinking this phrase when I hear so much information about all sorts of things.  The charges against political candidates, the spread of information from the college, the vast number of emails from the campus in Anchorage on a daily basis, even some of the charges the ads claim are true.  It’s just too much information for my liking.

I have heard people say I have my head in a whole i the ground.  Maybe I do, but I do try to find out what the news is.  I just don’t watch it very much.  Actually I don’t watch TV very much.

I’m not sure it is good for people to know everything about another person and to try to find out more information.  What we should do is try to share the information we do have about Jesus.  We need to be an example of the fruits of the spirit every day in all our actions.  For me this is far more important that knowing stuff.  I think I know what Jesus wants from me and I have his word to turn to if I need help.

I have been reading the Message which is the Bible translation by Peterson in modern language.  It really  makes me think when I read certain passages.  I know them by heart in the King James of my childhood, but reading them in a new current translation makes a big difference.

Isaiah 40:31 takes on a whole new look:  He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts. For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall. But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, They run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.

God will give me the fresh strength I need for every new day.  I look forward to that.

Father,  help me to get my information and my strength from you.  I don’t need to know a bunch of stuff.  I need to rest in you.  I need to run and walk and fly when you energize me.  Thank you.  Amen

Isaiah 40:31

 

 

Leave a Reply

