October 14

Laughter bubbling up…..

I opened my mail today and found two lists which brought the laughter bubbling up and over me.  I’m going to post them on my cabinet door above my desk and let them be a special reminder of the laughter the Lord gives me each and every day if I look for it.  At times, like this morning, it just bubbles up and over.  At other times I need to look to find it.

One of the lists in my mail was entitled “Hilarious things my mother taught me…”  My favorites are:  My  mother taught me foresight.  Make sure you wear clean underwear, in case you’re in an accident.” and my mother taught me irony:  Keep crying and I’ll give you something to cry about.”  These were two of my mother’s favorites and just reading them made me laugh out loud.  I could hear her saying it to me and my brother time and time again.  Of course the one about the underwear is true.  When I broke my hip, I thought of her remark and the other “Don’t forget to make your bed every morning.  You never know when you’ll land in the hospital and someone will have to come and go through your room for clean clothes.”

The other list is entitled “As I get older I realize.”  My favorite of these is number 9.  Wouldn’t it be great if we could put ourselves in the dryer for ten minutes, come out wrinkle-free and three sizes smaller?  I love this one.  It is so apropos.

I hope you find something that makes you laugh today.  Laughter is good medicine, good for the soul and healing to the bones.

Father,  thanks for laughter.  I love it.  Thanks for giving us such great gifts.  I love you.  Amen.

Proverbs 17:22: 15:13

 

Leave a Reply

