October 23

Another beautiful day….

Today was another beautiful day.  We have had so many crisp, cool fall days, it is simply amazing.  I can’t remember a fall like this in all my years in Alaska.  It is wonderful.

The topic of the sermon today was about worshiping God and it is hard to imagine anyone who sees this beauty and grandeur not worship our creator and maker.  The majesty of the world around us just cries out the Creator’s name.

Even though my parents hardly ever talked about God or his majesty and creation I grew up knowing that they believed in him.  We went to Sunday School faithfully and much of our family life was based on the Golden Rule.  My father was very uncomfortable with any talk about the Bible or God and he only let us give thanks for the food on Sundays.  He told me I could pray silently and that’s just what I did.

I often wondered why he chose the behavior he did.  I am sure it had something to do with his life as a boy among three brothers and a strict mother and father.  He was not that strict with my brother and me.  In fact he left most of the disciplining to our mother.  And she was the one who insisted on Sunday School, although he did not resist.

I think my growing faith came from going to church and youth groups and Bible studies in college. I am thankful for those people who nurtured me and for the understanding I have.

Father, thank you for your love and your majesty and grandeur.  Help me to never forget your love. Amen.

John 1:1; 3:16

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

