October 27

Sugar…..

Lately I’ve been trying something new.  Less sugar in my diet is supposed to help with heartburn so I thought I would try it out.  I never realized how much sugar is in some very common foods that I have been eating.  I have become a label reader.  Yogurt is a real culprit so I am limiting the amount I eat.

I have also realized that if you overdo it on sugar, you may not feel the effects of your excessive sugar intake until the next day.

I certainly know that I do not know all that much about the intricacies of the human body and I am only learning more in my old age.

I do know that we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” says the Psalmist.  “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”  One of the keys here is the phrase that precedes the statement about our body.  “I praise you”  We need to praise God more and more and to bless him for our bodies.  In the book by Philip Yancey and Dr. Paul Brand there is a quote that stands out.  Dr. Brand points out that the amazing thing about our bodies is that we catch very few germs when you think of the many hundreds of thousands that surround us every day.  People tend to grumble about getting sick and some specific germ.  Dr. Brand says we should focus on the fact that we aren’t affected by so many germs and that we do not get sick from them.

Once again, it is putting the focus on the positive.  We should be thankful that we are fearfully and wonderfully  made and that we an praise God for his creation rather than concentrate on the fact that we get a cold of have the flu.

Even when we do get sick, we have so many resources to help us get better quickly, to heal and that too comes from God.

Father, I praise you for the gift of my body and for your providence over us.  I am so thankful that I can turn to you for everything and that you don’t care how small or large it is.  You are there to listen, to comfort and to guide me.  I am in awe of your grace and mercy.  Amen.

Hebrews 4:16

Leave a Reply

