October 28

Fitting it all in….

Today is one of those days which is filled with activities.  I need to pick up an Alaskan YoYo made for my volunteer, teach classes, deliver the photo cups that finally arrived, write letters, go to the hospital to knit with my friend, go to a birthday party and fit in going to see the girls play volleyball.

In the midst of it all I need to focus on Jesus and center my thoughts on what is true and honorable, pure and lovely, right and admirable, excellent, and worthy of praise.  This will keep me centered in the midst of the busyness of the day and will definitely help me keep my heartburn at bay.

I love Scripture.  I only know it by  heart in the King James which I was taught as a child.  I am reading the Message now every morning and I love the clarity and focus of the words, but when I get to passages that I know by memory, my love of the King James pops up.  I usually use the NIV with the kids in Sunday School and sometimes a Children’s Bible.

But my focus is on helping them hide God’s word in their hearts that they might not sin against him.  We worked on the last of the fruits of the Spirit yesterday at KOK and two little boys had them memorized.  It is interesting how many of the kids wanted to use happiness as one of those Spirits.  I think our world is focused on happiness so it is hard for them to put it aside and remember the Fruits we have learned.  One little boy was telling me the Fruits when he said happiness and then he quickly said, “Oh, no, not happiness.”

Of course I want them to be happy, but I know that true happiness comes from expressing the Fruits of the Spirit in our lives.  I thank God for giving me those fruits and opportunities to teach them to the kids.

Father, thank you for the wonderful fruits of the spirit you have given to me.  Help me to continue to hide your word in my heart and keep me from sin.  You are an awesome God.  Amen.

Philippians 4:8; Galatians 5:22-23

Leave a Reply

