November 1

Peace is knowing God is here…

In the midst of the hustle and bustle of life, and sometimes the trials and tribulations, knowing God is here does bring peace.

It helps me to remind myself of that and to remember that God is a God of peace, comfort and mercy.  He wants me to have that contentment and to fill my life with it. I see so many who are wrought up, angry, frustrated, irritated and all it is doing is making them feel worse.  There is no relaxation or contentment that comes from this behavior.

We’ve been talking about agents of socialization in my Sociology class.  I am surprised that so few of them think religion of any sort has had much of an effect on their lives.  They readily see the role of the family and friends, but not religion and that really saddens me.  The two young girls who are in my class and go to our church mention it in class discussions, but they are poohed most of the time.  I don’t think it is a case of being afraid to mention it in front of their peers for the other kids.  I think they simply don’t see any role it has played in their lives.  I know most of them pretty well and I am guessing that they are right.

It certainly  makes it clear to me that I need to be praying for them and working harder to find ways to witness to them.  I can’t imagine my life without Christ.

Father,  you know the hearts and minds of these students.  Please help me to be a witness to them of your love and peace.  And please let them see it daily in me.  Amen.

Colossians 1:2 TLB

Leave a Reply

