November 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

Books and more books…..

I spent the majority of my time working on unpacking books and putting them on shelves.  It is amazing how many books there were to deal with.  I know I have a lot of books myself, but I don’t think I have that many.

I tried to sort the books into my son in law’s and my grandkids and then of course there were the scrapbooks and school scrapbooks to deal with.  Even though I know the shelves were the same, it didn’t seem like there was enough room to get them all to fit.

And on top of that I had to find the little pins to put in the shelf walls to fit the actual shelves in.  I never realized that the movers take the pins and put them in a pile and then wrap them in tape over and over until they have a ball which they put in the box.  I learned a lot about packing from this experience.

I am guessing that by the time I return after Christmas many of the books will have been moved to other spots in the house.  My daughter was planning to put bookshelves in other places which would definitely lighten the load and the squeeze on the shelves I worked on.  Moving is a tricky endeavor there is no doubt about that and it will take a lot more time before everything is in its place.

Speaking of places that is one of the hard parts of moving, figuring out what is the right place to keep things.  Every house is different and there is no easy way to figure out a lot of it.  You can put your clothes in the closets or the dresser drawers, but other than that, it take a lot of thinking to figure things out.

Father, I am thankful I was able to visit my daughter and be of some help to her and her family.  Help her with all that remains to be settled.  It is a big job and you are there to comfort and guide which is a blessing.  Amen.

I Corinthians 14:40

Leave a Reply

