November 19

Another kuspuk….

What’s a kuspuk you ask?  It’s a traditional jacket/dress worn by Native American women in Alaska.  It has a hood, a flounce (ruffle) on the bottom and best of all a special pocket for both hands on the front.  Wikipedia defines it as “a hooded overshirt with a large front pocket commonly worn among Alaska Natives.[5] Kuspuks are tunic-length, falling anywhere from below the hips to below the knees.”

I made one for my youngest granddaughter in January and when I asked her mother if she wanted another one I got a text “I love kuspuks!” for the answer.  So I went to the class today and started a new one today.

It is straight sewing and I can read a pattern, but our instructor has made literally hundreds of kuspuks and has a lot of little special techniques she teaches to make assembling the garment easier.

However, once I got home and started to work on finishing the garment I discovered that I had not lined up the rickrack trim at the neck properly and needed to take some of it out and redo it.  I am in the process of that now.  It is not turning out to be a horribly big deal, but it is definitely frustrating.

I do see the finished garment coming soon, so I am eager to get it done and sent it off.  It makes me realize the need for care in all you do.  I just didn’t realize my error.  I will be more careful in the future.

Father, thank you that errors can be fixed.  Thank you too for teachers who help us.  You are so good.  Amen.

Ephesians 5:15-17

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

