November 24

Thanksgiving….

I arrived in Cordova 41 years ago today.  It was the day before Thanksgiving and we had the annual community wide Thanksgiving Day service, just like today.  I have no idea how long it has been a tradition in Cordova, but it was around long before I moved here.

We had some people over for dinner and the conversation was good and the fellowship was great.  I heard that some people think it is a day just for family and friends, but I for one am happy to come together with others to worship our Lord and to thank him for his many provisions and blessing throughout the year.

I can’t imagine not going to church. It is such a blessing to me and a time to remember my many reasons to be thankful for the year past and the coming year.

“Let is gather together” the hymn says and I am happy and glad to “enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart” and with praise on my lips.  “I am glad to say this is the day the Lord has made.”

Father, you are awesome.  Let me never forget it.  Amen

Psalm 100

 

 

Leave a Reply

