December 1

Prince of Peace…..

In my devotions this morning I read Isaiah 9:6-7 from the Message and Prince of Peace was translated Prince of Wholeness.

As I considered those those words I thought about how appropriate it is to substitute wholeness for peace.  When I think of wholeness I think of being complete, of needing nothing.  The dictionary defines wholeness as “an undivided or unbroken completeness or totality with nothing wanting.”  Peace on the other hand has always made me think of being without frustration and being calm.

I don’t think the two are mutually exclusive, but I do think the idea of wholeness and peace together gives me a better picture of just what the Prince of Peace (Wholeness) conveys.

I love to think of the names for Jesus as they help me understand more fully just what Jesus is to me, to us.  He is my Savior, my Redeemer, my friend, my first love, my  father, my counselor.  The list goes on and on.  I am going to look up the names for Jesus in many translations and see what they bring to my understanding.

I am thankful for men like Eugene Peterson who took time to translate the Bible into modern English and to give me a new understanding of the old, familiar words.

Father, thank you for being the Prince of Wholeness and assuring me that I can live today with nothing wanting.  Amen.

Isaiah 9:6-7

 

Leave a Reply

