December 21

The first day of winter and the shortest day of the year….

Lightwise.  Tomorrow we start increasing in light daily.

When the ground is covered with snow, it seems a lot lighter out.  Even with the roads plowed, there is a huge berm on the side of the road from the snow and it gives off a low of light and makes it seem less dark.

According the the news I read we will get between four and five hours of daylight today while the areas where my kids live will get between nine and nine and a half hours of light.

But the best news is that Jesus is the light and he came into this dark world to bring that light to us.  Whenever we wallow in self-pity and stress, we need to stop and remind ourselves of that wonderful light.

In the Message in John 6 it reminds us that when we turn to God he “holds on and doesn’t let go.”  What a comforting message!  I am so thankful that He is holding onto me.  I need to work to be the light Jesus has given me.

Father, you are truly the light of the world and I am so thankful that you are holding onto me in the darkness.  Praise the Lord.  Amen.

John 6:35-38 (MSG)

Leave a Reply

