Finding God’s Will – Jan 2017

A new search for the year  2017…..

My search for God’s will for my life in the big picture is centered around making a decision to move away from Cordova or to stay here and just take trips to visit my children.

It began when my son called me following the memorial service for a beloved coach in Kansas who was from the college where he coaches.  He called to tell me about the death of this man whom I knew and then after the service.  He was really touched by the number of people who came to express their admiration, love and respect for this man. He was also touched by the comments from his family.  He had four daughter and many grandchildren.

This wasn’t the first time he expressed his desire that I move to Kansas, but it was the first time it made such an impression on me.  Specifically he reminded me that my grandchildren are growing up and that there won’t be many more opportunities for me to influence them.

I thought about this long and hard and began to think of the possibility of moving to Kansas. I also thought about how to include my grandchildren in Tennessee.

I have to take into consideration the fact that I am still working at the college and teaching dual credit courses at the high school which I really love and enjoy doing.  And I am the director of the Christian Center and am responsible for many, many activities during the year.

And the big issue is also the actual moving.  I have thought of lots of ideas concerning this particular issue and truly it is not the center of my thinking.  I am more concerned with finding God’s will for this move.

So……I am going to center my thoughts on Finding God’s will this year and I have created a new page which will be devoted to my search this year.

Father, help guide my thoughts and actions as I seek your will for my life, especially concerning moving.  I trust you to lead me to the answer you want me to follow.  Amen.

.

Signs along the way

I think about this decision every day, but I feel God telling me to get my house in order before I make the final decision.

One of the things we did when I went to Tennessee was visit the library.  It is very nice, spacious and filled with books.  I actually got two for one of my favorite authors and now I want to read the next installment in the life of the main character.  But that is an aside.

My oldest granddaughter took out a book titled Spark Joy.  She shared some of it with us and I was immediately captured by the idea of your possessions sparking joy in your life.  I think it was quite timely as the Pastor spoke about Jesus and joy on the previous Sunday.

It turns out that there is a first book by this author and it is about tidying up your home and putting it into order.  I was able to find a free summary that told quite a bit about the book and I think I will be able to carry through on the premise put forth by the author.

In spite of the fact that I cleaned all of my closets this past summer and went through the off site storage unit and really downsized it, I still think there is a lot to do in this regard.  When I think about my things sparking joy in my life, I can see a lot of things to discard, give away or get rid of.  There is no doubt in my mind that I have a lot to downsize.

I have started the process by thinking of each room in the house and I am sure that I can determine what does not bring joy to me and deal with it appropriately.

The author suggests that you deal with every room in your house on the same day to achieve the best results, but I feel confident that I can do it on a room by room basis and still get the same results.  I think it take determination and perseverance.

Father, help me to be focused on this task and not to give up when it gets hard.  Please move me along in the right direction.  Amen.

Bible references

Scripture helps….

We all know Bible references regarding God’s will for our lives.  Jeremiah 29:11 clearly states that God has a plan for our lives.  Romans 8:28 reminds us that God works all things together for good.

I need to keep these at the forefront of my thinking and remind myself that God does indeed have a plan and I need to see how it unfolds.

As you may know I have had a big problem all of my life with wanting to know what the big picture is and I have to continually remind myself that God is in charge and it is not up to me to determine how that big picture will turn out.  In spite of knowing this I often struggle with wanting to know and it is at these times that I have to remind myself to wait and wait upon God.

I plan to start working on learning other Bible references to help me trust in this fact.  I know it will be helpful and I know there are many more references that I can lean upon.

Father, help me to put my trust completely in you and to not worry about the big picture.  Amen.

God is affirming my direction….

Every day this week when I have read my devotions, one of the Scripture references used by the author has affirmed my decision to get my house in order before I make a big decision.  All of the Bible verses have been about moving forward in the right direction.

This has completely affirmed my decision to tidy my house and to discard the stuff that no longer brings me joy.

I have thought a lot about this and in spite of the fact that I have not discarded anything (I plan to begin tomorrow on Saturday) I have decided on a lot of things to discard.  I need to get boxes big enough to move forward.

The author suggests doing this in every room all at the same time.  I think this might be the key to moving forward with this concept she is putting forth.  I see the value in this, but I am not sure I have enough time to accomplish it in that time frame, but I am determined to start.  Starting is the key for me.  Then I can go forward.

Father, thank you for affirming me daily.  Thank you for your help and guidance.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

