January 16

Today was a holiday….

except that the schools did not observe it due to the fact that we have two days off at the end of the week for the annual Tipoff tournament.  So, I did have the time off from college, but had to go to the high school to teach my two dual credit courses.

The kids were all lamenting the fact that it wasn’t a holiday for them and even though this is a three day week, they were all moaning and groaning.

They are having spirit week too which means a contest among the classes to dress up for the day’s theme and there will be a special pep assembly Wednesday, but you know how it is.  When people, and kids in particular get into a funk, it is hard for them to get out of it easily or quickly.  Fortunately, we know this will pass, but sometimes you wish you could wave a magic wand over their heads and make it go away faster.

As I prepared for one of my classes I read a brief summary of Martin Luther King Jr.’s life and learned some facts I did not know.  It was very interesting and I used some of the material in my class since we were discussing race and inequality.  I was surprised by how little some of the kids knew and how much in contrast that some of the others did know.

The one thing that always surprises me is that they do not know the difference between Protestants and Catholics.  They think it is a difference between Christians and Catholics.  I have explained this so many times I am always surprised when it comes up again.  Since King adopted the name Martin Luther for himself it gave me a great opportunity to explain the Protestant Reformation and Martin Luther’s relationship to it.

Father, I am always thankful for every opportunity you give me and I am thankful for the blessings of each and every day.  You are awesome.  Amen.

Philippians 4:6-8

Leave a Reply

